Alabama DUI Penalties

DUI Penalties

Alabama DUI Penalties
(Effective 07-01-2018)

1st Offense:

  • Jail up to one (1) year ( probation is possible if you qualify); and
  • Fine not less than $600 and up to $2,100 plus court costs; and
  • 90-day driver license suspension OR install ignition interlock device for a period of three (3) months
  • Ignition Interlock Required on your vehicle for one year if convicted under “Aggravating Circumstances”

2nd Offense Within Ten Years:

  • Jail not less than five (5) days and up to one (1) year (mandatory 5 day sentence OR 30 days community service); and
  • Fine not less than $1,100 and up to $5,100 plus court costs; and
  • One year driver license revocation OR install ignition interlock device for a period of two years
  • Two-Year Ignition Interlock on your vehicle starts after mandatory 45 day driver license revocation period

3rd Offense Within Ten Years:

  • Jail not less than sixty (60) days and up to one year (mandatory 60 day sentence; probation is NOT possible); and
  • Fine not less than $2,100 and up to $10,100 plus court costs; and
  • Three year driver license revocation OR install ignition interlock device for a period of three years
  • Three-Year Ignition Interlock on your vehicle starts after mandatory 60 day driver license revocation period

4th or Subsequent Offense Within Ten Years: (Class C felony)

  • State prison for not less than one year and a day and up to ten (10) years; and
  • Fine not less than $4,100 and up to $10,100 plus court costs; and
  • Five year driver license revocation OR install ignition interlock device for a period of four years
  • Four-Year Ignition Interlock on your vehicle starts after mandatory one year driver license revocation period

“DOUBLE MINIMUM PUNISHMENT” Penalty: If convicted of any DUI offense with a test result. 15% or greater, the court is required to impose “double minimum punishment.” Fines and jail terms automatically double.

Aggravating Circumstances:

“Aggravating Circumstances” require ignition interlock for first DUI offense for any of the following: (1) Breath test with result of .15% or greater; (2) Refusing to submit to a breath test; (3) A child under 14 years of age was in the vehicle at the time of the DUI offense; or (4) Someone other than the offender was injured in a traffic accident. Ignition interlock is required on all second and subsequent DUI convictions, without regard to circumstances or conditions.

Do Not Delay; Call Today!

Fill out the contact form or call us at (334) 277-3974 to schedule your free consultation.

Leave Us a Message